Year 12 outstanding achievements recognised

Posted 16 December 2020 12:18pm

Congratulations to our Year 12 graduates who received their ATARs this morning.

Yesterday, at the virtual Board of Senior Secondary Studies (BSSS) Recognition of Excellence Ceremony, three Canberra Girls Grammar School students were acknowledged for their outstanding achievements:

Monique Jeacocke – Outstanding Achievement in Academic Studies (earning the highest ATAR for a BSSS student at CGGS in 2020)
Ashleigh Lane – Outstanding Achievement in Music
Maddison McRae – Outstanding Achievement in Community Services

In what has been a difficult year for students, the Year 12 cohort finished strongly, with many receiving early offers to the universities of their choice. Monique has received a scholarship to the ANU to study a double degree in Mathematics and Advanced Computing. This tops a remarkable year for the 18-year-old who was named as a member of the Physics Australian Science Olympiads team and was a finalist (for the third year in a row) in the Young Archie competition – the student version of the Archibald Prize – for her portrait of her sister, titled, Under the magnolia.

Ashleigh has been accepted to study Music Performance the Sydney Conservatorium of Music (through the University of Sydney) while Maddison plans to join Monique at ANU where she will study Software Engineering.

Principal, Mrs Anna Owen, praised the students for rising to the challenges of the year, and the staff for going the extra mile to support the students in maintaining the high standards of learning at our School.

“While much of 2020 was disrupted, students and staff managed to continue their teaching and learning programs,” Mrs Owen said.

“Through the support we have been able to provide to our students, along with the trust and encouragement of their families, the girls have achieved fantastic results, a testament to their efforts.”

We now eagerly await the outcomes from our International Baccalaureate Diploma Programme (IBDP) students who will receive their final results in early January 2021. 

Photo at top: Monique Jeacocke, Maddison McRae and Ashleigh Lane.