Year 12 Graduation Ceremony

Posted 3 December 2021 12:52pm

On Thursday 2 December we farewelled our 2021 Year 12 graduating class. The girls were joined by their families in the Senior School hall as they received their Year 12 certificates, and several students were honoured as major award recipients. The graduating class were addressed by Grammarian Georgia Lourandos (2010), who works in the Strategy team at the Australian Renewable Energy Agency, as well as Chair of the CGGS Board Mrs Sue Hart. Special guests included Chair of the Gabriel Foundation, Mr David Holmesby, President of the Grammarians Association, Ms Lauren Sewell, President of the P&F Committee, Mrs Janice Green and other members of the CGGS Board and Gabriel Foundation. Year 12 students Tatyana Ludwig, Joy Chow, Ella Borgo, Georgia Lister and Aditi Kamath performed musical pieces for their peers as a send-off.

A new award was created in 2021 to recognise the significant contribution of The House program to the leadership and character development of Canberra Girls Grammar girls, as we head towards our centenary and beyond. The award is presented to a student in any year level from Year 7 to 12 who makes a significant contribution to The House. The award is named in recognition of Mrs Anna Owen, who was pivotal in the foundation and development of The House.

Following the official ceremony, the graduating class and their families joined teachers, staff and special guests at the Arboretum for their Graduation Dinner, which was generously sponsored by the Gabriel Foundation. 

The Year 12 Boarding House students and their families also joined together one last time in the Administration Hub prior to the ceremony, to celebrate their experience as boarders.


Major award winners

The Grammarians' School Spirit Prize - Georgia Lister

The Grammarians' Association Award for Service and Citizenship (Day Student) - Saumya Nagar

The Belinda Moss Award - Anjitha (Anjie) Gopinathan

The Ampol Best All Round Student Award - Selena Wiesel

The Prize for a Valued Contribution to Year 12 - Saumya Nagar

The Louisa Wawn Memorial Award for Community Service - Cara Schultz

The Ann Gwynn-Jones Memorial Trophy for Outstanding Performance as a Student of Drama - Layla Brady

The Chris Fifield Award for Music and Languages - Amélie Munro

The Mary Tatchell Prize for Service to Music - Ella Borgo

The King Family Prize for Science - Leila Mokahal

The Cicolari and Vido Award for Commitment and Excellence - Adelaide Curlewis

The Cornwell Art Acquisition Award - Elodie Hendy

The Australian Defence Force Long Tan Award for Leadership and Teamwork - Bethany Egan

The Australian Defence Force Future Innovators Award - Abigail Worswick

The Olympic Change-Maker Award - Ashleigh Burns

The Anna Owen Award for Outstanding Contribution to The House Program (inaugural award) - Jaimie Noonan

spinner gif