Student Achievements

Posted 6 December 2019 9:00am

The Australian Mathematics Trust (AMT) awards night was held at the ANU last week with prizes awarded to students who received outstanding results in the recent Australian Mathematics Competition. Congratulations to Xuanwei Chen (Year 5) who was awarded Best in State and an AMT Prize for her near perfect score. Congratulations also to Georgina Hill (Year 8) and Edie Matthiesson-Hull (Year 6) for their High Achiever Awards.

The Australian Mathematics Competition is an annual competition that is run by the AMT for primary and secondary students throughout Australia and beyond.

This week, three Year 12 students and two Grammarians were presented with their Duke of Edinburgh Gold Award by the Governor General at a ceremony at Government House. Congratulations to Grace Wright, Sam Burge, Taylor Campbell, Jordyn Fisher (2018) and Madeleine Pont (2018).  We also had another student invited, Rhea Chopra (2018) - who is currently in England – and earlier this year, Sachi Sharma-Burton and Bethany Hewitt (both 2018 graduates), received their Gold Award at the 60th Anniversary Ceremony in Sydney.

Jordyn was asked to make a speech about her experience of completing the Award. She spoke beautifully about having gained a sense of value and connection from her service component, and strength and capability from the expeditions she undertook.

Year 12 boarder and Brumbies W League player, Grace Kemp, recently returned from a tour of Fiji with the Australia A Wallaroos team where they competed in the Oceania Rugby Women’s Championship.

Well done to Sarah Shearer (Year 5) who recently performed with her vocal group the Australian Voice Collective in their first ever professional show. They performed two songs live on ABC Radio Canberra and are hoping to release their second and third songs on Spotify by the end of the year. Congratulations!

Georgia Lister (Year 10) is a member of No. 334 Squadron located at HMAS Harman of the Australian Air Force Cadets.  This week, Georgia was awarded Dux of 334 Squadron’s Advanced Stage for achieving the highest results. Georgia also received the prestigious ACT Reserve Forces Day Council award for Most Outstanding Air Force Cadet. This award is presented annually to the cadet who displays all round consistency and the potential for advancement.

CGGS rowers had a fantastic weekend racing at the Head of the Yarra in Melbourne. The course ran 8km up the Yarra River, proving challenging and very exciting as boats raced to overtake their competition between bridges and before the river narrowed closer to the finish line at Hawthorn.

The 1st VIII were unfortunately boxed in by other crews from the category in front, with a couple of kilometres to go but held on for a third place. The 2nd VIII had a dream race overtaking other schoolgirl crews before the ‘narrows’ then kept the pressure on the one boat remaining in front of them until they found the right moment to charge ahead and take the win! Congratulations to both crews and their coaches for a terrific and very successful racing weekend in Melbourne.

Three Junior School teams recently represented the ACT at the Tournament of Minds (ToMs) International Finals in Hobart with the Social Sciences and The Arts teams being awarded Honours (runners up) at the closing ceremony. Congratulations to all involved.

Eleven Year 9 students attended Techtonic – the inaugural national summit on artificial intelligence at Questacon on 15 November. The afternoon commenced with a brief tour with the Questacon interactive exhibition, Born or Built, which explores the current and possible future relationships between humans and intelligent machines. The students then spent time in the boardroom being challenged to analyse and synthesis ideas and develop short overviews to present. A quick walk across to Old Parliament House, a brief meet-and-greet with the Hon. Karen Andrews, Minister for Industry, Science and Technology Andrews, and they were on stage in front of 150 or so industry and government conference attendees presenting a young female perspective of AI’s future in Australia. Well done to the following students for representing CGGS at this important event:

Emma Corcoran, Grace Ding, Isra Eski, Holly Irvine, Alex McRae, Alex Malegan, Bella Mun, Marina Markova, Katia Stephan, Lize van der Walt and Alice Weber.

Good luck to the CGGS Nitro Athletics Team who headed off to Perth yesterday. They will compete at the Australian Schools Track and Field Championships over the weekend in Perth, and then the Nitro National Champs on Monday next week.

The CGGS team will be competing against 13 other school teams from across Australia. All teams have qualified through their respective Nitro State Champs events – it will be a red-hot competition for our girls! Race well Elise Finney (Year 10), Lucy Hincksman (Year 9), Alex Krope (Year 10), Rory Owen (Year 10) and Inemami Ajulo (Year 9)! And good luck to Zoe Melhuish (Year 11) and Lucinda Thompson (Year 8) who are also competing at the Australian Schools Track and Field Championships team.

Photo at top: Georgina, Xuanwei and Edie at the AMT awards night.

spinner gif