Student Achievements

Posted 21 June 2019 12:28pm

Our Senior School Debaters have been in action, with the Year 12 team winning the ACT Debating Union Advanced Open Final Seniors. Congratulations to Elisabeth Abhayaratna, Bianca Barrass-Borzatti, Ailin He and Nithya Mathew! The Year 11 team, comprising Claire Harris, Gemma Hudson and Isabel Ritchie were the runners up. Meanwhile, our Year 10 team – Jaimie Noonan, Ashwini Sivakumar and Abigail Worswick – were runners up in the Senior Open (Years 9-10) competition.

In more debating news, this week in the NGS National Virtual Open Debating Competition (Years 11-12), both CGGS teams have secured a position in the major semi-final - the only two teams remaining undefeated in the competition. This assures CGGS of having at least one team in the grand final – maybe two! We are currently the defending champions and the following teams could likely be battling it out to take home the trophy for CGGS again:

  • Kate Gordon, Claire Harris, Gemma Hudson and Isabel Ritchie
  • Elisabeth Abhayaratna, Bianca Barrass-Borzatti, Ailin He and Nithya Mathew

Well done to all our debaters who continue to prove CGGS are a force to be reckoned with.

Sasha Grove (Year 9) has received an ACT Academy of Sport Scholarship for Football. This scholarship will allow Sasha to further develop her ‘off-pitch’ performance through access to a range of services including a psychologist, nutritionist, sports doctor, physiotherapist and a gym. The scholarship also compliments ongoing soccer development in an academy environment. Congratulations Sasha!

Congratulations to Erin Wyatt (Year 7) who has secured a place in Cricket ACT’s Under 13’s Emerging Meteors squad this year! Erin is thrilled to be representing girls’ cricket at this level.

Julia Mashford (Year 6) is through to the semi-final of the Rostrum ACT Primary Schools Speaking Competition. Julia placed second at the quarter final held on 11 June at Garran Primary School. Well done, Julia and best of luck for the next round.

Photo above: Year 12 Debaters (L-R) – Ailin He, Nithya Mathew, Bianca Barrass-Borzatti and Elisabeth Abhayaratna.

spinner gif