News from The Grammarians' Association

Posted 20 November 2020 8:30am

The Annual General Meeting of the Grammarians’ Association was held on Wednesday, 11 November. The meeting was attended by 17 Grammarians. The Committee voted to accept the new Grammarians’ Association Constitution and also appointed some new faces to the Committee.

Lauren Sewell (2008) was voted the Association’s 34th President, taking the reins from Sanchia Glaskin (1965). Other appointments to the Committee include:

  • Vice-President - Jane Sutherland (2008)
  • Secretary - Clare Lindley (Sutherland, 2012)
  • Treasurer - Gail Tregear (1957)

Committee Members –Philippa Bassili (Crowther, 2012), Gemma Butler (2012), Margaret Cornwell OAM (Archer, 1951), Suchara Fernando (2012), Sanchia Glaskin (Starke, 1965), Liz Mulcahy (McPherson, 1981), Sophia Notaras (Cassidy, 1961), Emily Sturgess (2012), Sally Wagnon (Maidens, 1991) and Leila West (2018). 

The outgoing President, Sanchia Glaskin was thanked for her generous efforts in leading the Grammarians during the last nine years.

The Grammarians’ Association was founded on 23 August 1931 by six alumni, who called it the Old Girls’ Union. The Association was originally created to provide a means for past pupils to remain in touch with each other and the School, a function it serves to this day.

The Association promotes and supports the School in its mission to equip students with the skills they need to fulfil their potential as global citizens.

Today, we have close to 13,000 Grammarians living and working in locations all around the world.

If you would like to be part of the Grammarians’ network or receive information from the School, please get in touch with Clair Murray (Alumni & Development Officer) on 6120 3328 or email You can also join us on social media at the CGGS Alumni Facebook page or Canberra Girls Grammar School Grammarians’ Association LinkedIn group.